Which countries have recognized a Palestinian state?

The declaration of a Palestinian state was made by Yasser Arafat in 1988, following the start of the first Intifada. Algeria was the first country to officially recognize an independent Palestinian state. This was followed by forty other countries, including China, India, Turkey, and most Arab nations. Africa, the Soviet bloc, Central America, and Latin America also joined in recognizing the Palestinian state.

Recognizing a Palestinian state has been a unilateral decision made by the majority of countries around the world. The Palestinian Authority has restarted the process of becoming a full member state of the United Nations. According to the Palestinian Authority, 137 out of 193 UN states have recognized a Palestinian state, with few exceptions in Western Europe, North America, Australia, Japan, and South Korea.

The Palestinians have been making diplomatic efforts on the international stage for decades now. They gained observer state status at the United Nations in 2012 and became full members of UNESCO in 2011. This new status allowed them to join the International Criminal Court in 2015 despite objections from some countries like Israel and USA. Some European countries have recognized Palestine under certain conditions while others are yet to do so due to strained relations with Israel.

Countries like Spain, Ireland, Malta

By Sophia Gonzalez

As a content writer at newsgreg.com, I am dedicated to crafting engaging stories that captivate our readers. With a knack for turning complex topics into accessible and compelling narratives, I weave words together to inform and inspire. My passion lies in delivering accurate and thought-provoking content that keeps our audience informed and entertained. From breaking news stories to in-depth features, I strive to bring a fresh perspective to every piece I create. Join me on this journey of exploration and discovery through the power of words at newsgreg.com.

Leave a Reply