Four Academy Fellows have been elected to the Royal Society

Four exceptional scientists from Australia have been elected to the esteemed Royal Society this year. Professor Richard Hartley from the Australian National University was recognized for his pioneering work in computer vision and image understanding, which has paved the way for a new field of research and resulted in numerous publications by various authors over the past decade.

Professor David Komander from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research (WEHI) was acknowledged for his outstanding leadership in the field of ubiquitylation, a crucial molecular pathway linked to inherited Parkinson’s disease.

Professor Douglas MacFarlane from Monash University was elected for his remarkable contributions to materials chemistry, with a focus on developing new ionic materials and their unique physical properties.

Lastly, Professor Ivan Marusic from the University of Melbourne was honored as an international expert in fluid mechanics, particularly for his groundbreaking discovery of ‘superstructures’ and their role in wall turbulence.

These distinguished Fellows join 90 exceptional scientists from around the world, spanning various fields such as biochemistry and artificial intelligence, in the Royal Society. Founded over three centuries ago, the Royal Society is one of the most prestigious scientific academies globally, comprising some of the most eminent scientists worldwide.

By Sophia Gonzalez

As a content writer at, I am dedicated to crafting engaging stories that captivate our readers. With a knack for turning complex topics into accessible and compelling narratives, I weave words together to inform and inspire. My passion lies in delivering accurate and thought-provoking content that keeps our audience informed and entertained. From breaking news stories to in-depth features, I strive to bring a fresh perspective to every piece I create. Join me on this journey of exploration and discovery through the power of words at

Leave a Reply